summaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorDave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>2019-02-25 10:57:30 -0800
committerDan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>2019-02-28 10:41:23 -0800
commit5cd401ace914dc68556c6d2fcae0c349444d5f86 (patch)
treed9eda233940338a952cd22f6c596aa478d3d5198
parentc347bd71dcdb2d0ac8b3a771486584dca8c8dd80 (diff)
downloadlinux-0-day-5cd401ace914dc68556c6d2fcae0c349444d5f86.tar.gz
linux-0-day-5cd401ace914dc68556c6d2fcae0c349444d5f86.tar.xz
mm/resource: Return real error codes from walk failures
walk_system_ram_range() can return an error code either becuase *it* failed, or because the 'func' that it calls returned an error. The memory hotplug does the following: ret = walk_system_ram_range(..., func); if (ret) return ret; and 'ret' makes it out to userspace, eventually. The problem s, walk_system_ram_range() failues that result from *it* failing (as opposed to 'func') return -1. That leads to a very odd -EPERM (-1) return code out to userspace. Make walk_system_ram_range() return -EINVAL for internal failures to keep userspace less confused. This return code is compatible with all the callers that I audited. Signed-off-by: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com> Reviewed-by: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com> Acked-by: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> (powerpc) Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> Cc: Dave Jiang <dave.jiang@intel.com> Cc: Ross Zwisler <zwisler@kernel.org> Cc: Vishal Verma <vishal.l.verma@intel.com> Cc: Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: linux-nvdimm@lists.01.org Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org Cc: Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com> Cc: Fengguang Wu <fengguang.wu@intel.com> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de> Cc: Yaowei Bai <baiyaowei@cmss.chinamobile.com> Cc: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de> Cc: Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org Cc: Keith Busch <keith.busch@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
-rw-r--r--kernel/resource.c4
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/resource.c b/kernel/resource.c
index 915c02e8e5dd..ca7ed5158cff 100644
--- a/kernel/resource.c
+++ b/kernel/resource.c
@@ -382,7 +382,7 @@ static int __walk_iomem_res_desc(resource_size_t start, resource_size_t end,
int (*func)(struct resource *, void *))
{
struct resource res;
- int ret = -1;
+ int ret = -EINVAL;
while (start < end &&
!find_next_iomem_res(start, end, flags, desc, first_lvl, &res)) {
@@ -462,7 +462,7 @@ int walk_system_ram_range(unsigned long start_pfn, unsigned long nr_pages,
unsigned long flags;
struct resource res;
unsigned long pfn, end_pfn;
- int ret = -1;
+ int ret = -EINVAL;
start = (u64) start_pfn << PAGE_SHIFT;
end = ((u64)(start_pfn + nr_pages) << PAGE_SHIFT) - 1;