summaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/block/Kconfig
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorDan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>2017-05-08 10:55:27 -0700
committerDan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>2017-05-08 10:55:27 -0700
commitef51042472f55b325fd7f2b26a2e29fd89757234 (patch)
treead814d3a1537f69b6ca54c0417260324e8f1a6eb /block/Kconfig
parent74d71a01abef37f71d914f2105a4cb8712a2beb8 (diff)
downloadlinux-0-day-ef51042472f55b325fd7f2b26a2e29fd89757234.tar.gz
block, dax: move "select DAX" from BLOCK to FS_DAX
For configurations that do not enable DAX filesystems or drivers, do not require the DAX core to be built. Given that the 'direct_access' method has been removed from 'block_device_operations', we can also go ahead and remove the block-related dax helper functions from fs/block_dev.c to drivers/dax/super.c. This keeps dax details out of the block layer and lets the DAX core be built as a module in the FS_DAX=n case. Filesystems need to include dax.h to call bdev_dax_supported(). Cc: linux-xfs@vger.kernel.org Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk> Cc: "Theodore Ts'o" <tytso@mit.edu> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <mawilcox@microsoft.com> Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: "Darrick J. Wong" <darrick.wong@oracle.com> Cc: Ross Zwisler <ross.zwisler@linux.intel.com> Reviewed-by: Jan Kara <jack@suse.com> Reported-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Signed-off-by: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'block/Kconfig')
-rw-r--r--block/Kconfig1
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/block/Kconfig b/block/Kconfig
index 93da7fc..e9f780f 100644
--- a/block/Kconfig
+++ b/block/Kconfig
@@ -6,7 +6,6 @@ menuconfig BLOCK
default y
select SBITMAP
select SRCU
- select DAX
help
Provide block layer support for the kernel.