summaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/avr32/Kconfig
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorHuang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com>2011-07-13 13:14:22 +0800
committerLen Brown <len.brown@intel.com>2011-08-03 11:12:37 -0400
commitdf013ffb8119c89f062ab05b7f544704315db47b (patch)
treedb87f30545d2fd6cf9b0a547f09d924df3be90dd /arch/avr32/Kconfig
parent9fb0bfe1408d5506b7b83d13d1eed573fd71d67d (diff)
downloadlinux-df013ffb8119c89f062ab05b7f544704315db47b.tar.gz
Add Kconfig option ARCH_HAVE_NMI_SAFE_CMPXCHG
cmpxchg() is widely used by lockless code, including NMI-safe lockless code. But on some architectures, the cmpxchg() implementation is not NMI-safe, on these architectures the lockless code may need a spin_trylock_irqsave() based implementation. This patch adds a Kconfig option: ARCH_HAVE_NMI_SAFE_CMPXCHG, so that NMI-safe lockless code can depend on it or provide different implementation according to it. On many architectures, cmpxchg is only NMI-safe for several specific operand sizes. So, ARCH_HAVE_NMI_SAFE_CMPXCHG define in this patch only guarantees cmpxchg is NMI-safe for sizeof(unsigned long). Signed-off-by: Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com> Acked-by: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org> Acked-by: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Acked-by: Hans-Christian Egtvedt <hans-christian.egtvedt@atmel.com> Acked-by: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Acked-by: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Acked-by: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> CC: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com> Acked-by: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> CC: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> CC: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> CC: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> CC: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> CC: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Acked-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> CC: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> CC: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> CC: Chen Liqin <liqin.chen@sunplusct.com> CC: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> CC: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> CC: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Signed-off-by: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/avr32/Kconfig')
-rw-r--r--arch/avr32/Kconfig1
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/avr32/Kconfig b/arch/avr32/Kconfig
index e9d689b..197e96f 100644
--- a/arch/avr32/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/avr32/Kconfig
@@ -10,6 +10,7 @@ config AVR32
select GENERIC_IRQ_PROBE
select HARDIRQS_SW_RESEND
select GENERIC_IRQ_SHOW
+ select ARCH_HAVE_NMI_SAFE_CMPXCHG
help
AVR32 is a high-performance 32-bit RISC microprocessor core,
designed for cost-sensitive embedded applications, with particular