summaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/avr32/kernel
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorChris Metcalf <cmetcalf@mellanox.com>2016-10-07 17:02:55 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2016-10-07 18:46:30 -0700
commit6727ad9e206cc08b80d8000a4d67f8417e53539d (patch)
tree3f9ca202417b08918547d5db776d041fa4ee61e3 /arch/avr32/kernel
parent511f8389454e55ece5115dc3bc84a0947788ff4f (diff)
downloadlinux-6727ad9e206cc08b80d8000a4d67f8417e53539d.tar.gz
nmi_backtrace: generate one-line reports for idle cpus
When doing an nmi backtrace of many cores, most of which are idle, the output is a little overwhelming and very uninformative. Suppress messages for cpus that are idling when they are interrupted and just emit one line, "NMI backtrace for N skipped: idling at pc 0xNNN". We do this by grouping all the cpuidle code together into a new .cpuidle.text section, and then checking the address of the interrupted PC to see if it lies within that section. This commit suitably tags x86 and tile idle routines, and only adds in the minimal framework for other architectures. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1472487169-14923-5-git-send-email-cmetcalf@mellanox.com Signed-off-by: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@mellanox.com> Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Tested-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Tested-by: Daniel Thompson <daniel.thompson@linaro.org> [arm] Tested-by: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com> Cc: Aaron Tomlin <atomlin@redhat.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net> Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/avr32/kernel')
-rw-r--r--arch/avr32/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S1
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/avr32/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S b/arch/avr32/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S
index a458917..17f2730 100644
--- a/arch/avr32/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S
+++ b/arch/avr32/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S
@@ -52,6 +52,7 @@ SECTIONS
KPROBES_TEXT
TEXT_TEXT
SCHED_TEXT
+ CPUIDLE_TEXT
LOCK_TEXT
*(.fixup)
*(.gnu.warning)