summaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/avr32/mm/dma-coherent.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKrzysztof Kozlowski <k.kozlowski@samsung.com>2016-08-03 13:46:00 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2016-08-04 08:50:07 -0400
commit00085f1efa387a8ce100e3734920f7639c80caa3 (patch)
tree41ff3d6e6884918b4fc4f1ae96a284098167c5b0 /arch/avr32/mm/dma-coherent.c
parent1605d2715ad2e67ddd0485a26e05ed670a4285ca (diff)
downloadlinux-00085f1efa387a8ce100e3734920f7639c80caa3.tar.gz
dma-mapping: use unsigned long for dma_attrs
The dma-mapping core and the implementations do not change the DMA attributes passed by pointer. Thus the pointer can point to const data. However the attributes do not have to be a bitfield. Instead unsigned long will do fine: 1. This is just simpler. Both in terms of reading the code and setting attributes. Instead of initializing local attributes on the stack and passing pointer to it to dma_set_attr(), just set the bits. 2. It brings safeness and checking for const correctness because the attributes are passed by value. Semantic patches for this change (at least most of them): virtual patch virtual context @r@ identifier f, attrs; @@ f(..., - struct dma_attrs *attrs + unsigned long attrs , ...) { ... } @@ identifier r.f; @@ f(..., - NULL + 0 ) and // Options: --all-includes virtual patch virtual context @r@ identifier f, attrs; type t; @@ t f(..., struct dma_attrs *attrs); @@ identifier r.f; @@ f(..., - NULL + 0 ) Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1468399300-5399-2-git-send-email-k.kozlowski@samsung.com Signed-off-by: Krzysztof Kozlowski <k.kozlowski@samsung.com> Acked-by: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Acked-by: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com> Acked-by: Hans-Christian Noren Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no> Acked-by: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> [c6x] Acked-by: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com> [cris] Acked-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch> [drm] Reviewed-by: Bart Van Assche <bart.vanassche@sandisk.com> Acked-by: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de> [iommu] Acked-by: Fabien Dessenne <fabien.dessenne@st.com> [bdisp] Reviewed-by: Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com> [vb2-core] Acked-by: David Vrabel <david.vrabel@citrix.com> [xen] Acked-by: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com> [xen swiotlb] Acked-by: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de> [iommu] Acked-by: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org> [hexagon] Acked-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> [m68k] Acked-by: Gerald Schaefer <gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com> [s390] Acked-by: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org> Acked-by: Hans-Christian Noren Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no> [avr32] Acked-by: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> [arc] Acked-by: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com> [arm64 and dma-iommu] Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/avr32/mm/dma-coherent.c')
-rw-r--r--arch/avr32/mm/dma-coherent.c12
1 files changed, 6 insertions, 6 deletions
diff --git a/arch/avr32/mm/dma-coherent.c b/arch/avr32/mm/dma-coherent.c
index 92cf1fb..58610d0 100644
--- a/arch/avr32/mm/dma-coherent.c
+++ b/arch/avr32/mm/dma-coherent.c
@@ -99,7 +99,7 @@ static void __dma_free(struct device *dev, size_t size,
}
static void *avr32_dma_alloc(struct device *dev, size_t size,
- dma_addr_t *handle, gfp_t gfp, struct dma_attrs *attrs)
+ dma_addr_t *handle, gfp_t gfp, unsigned long attrs)
{
struct page *page;
dma_addr_t phys;
@@ -109,7 +109,7 @@ static void *avr32_dma_alloc(struct device *dev, size_t size,
return NULL;
phys = page_to_phys(page);
- if (dma_get_attr(DMA_ATTR_WRITE_COMBINE, attrs)) {
+ if (attrs & DMA_ATTR_WRITE_COMBINE) {
/* Now, map the page into P3 with write-combining turned on */
*handle = phys;
return __ioremap(phys, size, _PAGE_BUFFER);
@@ -119,11 +119,11 @@ static void *avr32_dma_alloc(struct device *dev, size_t size,
}
static void avr32_dma_free(struct device *dev, size_t size,
- void *cpu_addr, dma_addr_t handle, struct dma_attrs *attrs)
+ void *cpu_addr, dma_addr_t handle, unsigned long attrs)
{
struct page *page;
- if (dma_get_attr(DMA_ATTR_WRITE_COMBINE, attrs)) {
+ if (attrs & DMA_ATTR_WRITE_COMBINE) {
iounmap(cpu_addr);
page = phys_to_page(handle);
@@ -142,7 +142,7 @@ static void avr32_dma_free(struct device *dev, size_t size,
static dma_addr_t avr32_dma_map_page(struct device *dev, struct page *page,
unsigned long offset, size_t size,
- enum dma_data_direction direction, struct dma_attrs *attrs)
+ enum dma_data_direction direction, unsigned long attrs)
{
void *cpu_addr = page_address(page) + offset;
@@ -152,7 +152,7 @@ static dma_addr_t avr32_dma_map_page(struct device *dev, struct page *page,
static int avr32_dma_map_sg(struct device *dev, struct scatterlist *sglist,
int nents, enum dma_data_direction direction,
- struct dma_attrs *attrs)
+ unsigned long attrs)
{
int i;
struct scatterlist *sg;