summaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/mm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorLucas Stach <l.stach@pengutronix.de>2017-02-24 14:58:37 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2017-02-24 17:46:55 -0800
commitca96b625341027f611c3e61351a70311077ebcf5 (patch)
treeb037298eee0aabcf294f7d0327ad28590ea006c7 /mm
parent5a02026d390ea1bb0c16a0e214e45613a3e3d885 (diff)
downloadlinux-ca96b625341027f611c3e61351a70311077ebcf5.tar.gz
mm: alloc_contig_range: allow to specify GFP mask
Currently alloc_contig_range assumes that the compaction should be done with the default GFP_KERNEL flags. This is probably right for all current uses of this interface, but may change as CMA is used in more use-cases (including being the default DMA memory allocator on some platforms). Change the function prototype, to allow for passing through the GFP mask set by upper layers. Also respect global restrictions by applying memalloc_noio_flags to the passed in flags. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170127172328.18574-1-l.stach@pengutronix.de Signed-off-by: Lucas Stach <l.stach@pengutronix.de> Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Acked-by: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Cc: Radim Krcmar <rkrcmar@redhat.com> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com> Cc: Alexander Graf <agraf@suse.com> Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm')
-rw-r--r--mm/cma.c3
-rw-r--r--mm/hugetlb.c3
-rw-r--r--mm/page_alloc.c5
3 files changed, 7 insertions, 4 deletions
diff --git a/mm/cma.c b/mm/cma.c
index 94b3460..c6aed23c 100644
--- a/mm/cma.c
+++ b/mm/cma.c
@@ -402,7 +402,8 @@ struct page *cma_alloc(struct cma *cma, size_t count, unsigned int align)
pfn = cma->base_pfn + (bitmap_no << cma->order_per_bit);
mutex_lock(&cma_mutex);
- ret = alloc_contig_range(pfn, pfn + count, MIGRATE_CMA);
+ ret = alloc_contig_range(pfn, pfn + count, MIGRATE_CMA,
+ GFP_KERNEL);
mutex_unlock(&cma_mutex);
if (ret == 0) {
page = pfn_to_page(pfn);
diff --git a/mm/hugetlb.c b/mm/hugetlb.c
index 167fd07..2e0e815 100644
--- a/mm/hugetlb.c
+++ b/mm/hugetlb.c
@@ -1052,7 +1052,8 @@ static int __alloc_gigantic_page(unsigned long start_pfn,
unsigned long nr_pages)
{
unsigned long end_pfn = start_pfn + nr_pages;
- return alloc_contig_range(start_pfn, end_pfn, MIGRATE_MOVABLE);
+ return alloc_contig_range(start_pfn, end_pfn, MIGRATE_MOVABLE,
+ GFP_KERNEL);
}
static bool pfn_range_valid_gigantic(struct zone *z,
diff --git a/mm/page_alloc.c b/mm/page_alloc.c
index 2d34cdb..8a0f336 100644
--- a/mm/page_alloc.c
+++ b/mm/page_alloc.c
@@ -7399,6 +7399,7 @@ static int __alloc_contig_migrate_range(struct compact_control *cc,
* #MIGRATE_MOVABLE or #MIGRATE_CMA). All pageblocks
* in range must have the same migratetype and it must
* be either of the two.
+ * @gfp_mask: GFP mask to use during compaction
*
* The PFN range does not have to be pageblock or MAX_ORDER_NR_PAGES
* aligned, however it's the caller's responsibility to guarantee that
@@ -7412,7 +7413,7 @@ static int __alloc_contig_migrate_range(struct compact_control *cc,
* need to be freed with free_contig_range().
*/
int alloc_contig_range(unsigned long start, unsigned long end,
- unsigned migratetype)
+ unsigned migratetype, gfp_t gfp_mask)
{
unsigned long outer_start, outer_end;
unsigned int order;
@@ -7424,7 +7425,7 @@ int alloc_contig_range(unsigned long start, unsigned long end,
.zone = page_zone(pfn_to_page(start)),
.mode = MIGRATE_SYNC,
.ignore_skip_hint = true,
- .gfp_mask = GFP_KERNEL,
+ .gfp_mask = memalloc_noio_flags(gfp_mask),
};
INIT_LIST_HEAD(&cc.migratepages);