summaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/avr32/mach-at32ap
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorLinus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>2015-11-04 09:56:26 +0100
committerLinus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>2015-11-19 09:24:35 +0100
commit58383c78425e4ee1c077253cf297b641c861c02e (patch)
tree606949d2c6db8176c0659eaa935d022bf6d19974 /arch/avr32/mach-at32ap
parent8005c49d9aea74d382f474ce11afbbc7d7130bec (diff)
downloadlinux-58383c78425e4ee1c077253cf297b641c861c02e.tar.gz
gpio: change member .dev to .parent
The name .dev in a struct is normally reserved for a struct device that is let us say a superclass to the thing described by the struct. struct gpio_chip stands out by confusingly using a struct device *dev to point to the parent device (such as a platform_device) that represents the hardware. As we want to give gpio_chip:s real devices, this is not working. We need to rename this member to parent. This was done by two coccinelle scripts, I guess it is possible to combine them into one, but I don't know such stuff. They look like this: @@ struct gpio_chip *var; @@ -var->dev +var->parent and: @@ struct gpio_chip var; @@ -var.dev +var.parent and: @@ struct bgpio_chip *var; @@ -var->gc.dev +var->gc.parent Plus a few instances of bgpio that I couldn't figure out how to teach Coccinelle to rewrite. This patch hits all over the place, but I *strongly* prefer this solution to any piecemal approaches that just exercise patch mechanics all over the place. It mainly hits drivers/gpio and drivers/pinctrl which is my own backyard anyway. Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@gmail.com> Cc: Rafał Miłecki <zajec5@gmail.com> Cc: Richard Purdie <rpurdie@rpsys.net> Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@osg.samsung.com> Cc: Alek Du <alek.du@intel.com> Cc: Jaroslav Kysela <perex@perex.cz> Cc: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.com> Acked-by: Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com> Acked-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Acked-by: Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org> Acked-by: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz> Acked-by: Hans-Christian Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no> Acked-by: Jacek Anaszewski <j.anaszewski@samsung.com> Signed-off-by: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/avr32/mach-at32ap')
-rw-r--r--arch/avr32/mach-at32ap/pio.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/arch/avr32/mach-at32ap/pio.c b/arch/avr32/mach-at32ap/pio.c
index 4f61378..aa74491 100644
--- a/arch/avr32/mach-at32ap/pio.c
+++ b/arch/avr32/mach-at32ap/pio.c
@@ -397,7 +397,7 @@ static int __init pio_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
pio->chip.label = pio->name;
pio->chip.base = pdev->id * 32;
pio->chip.ngpio = 32;
- pio->chip.dev = &pdev->dev;
+ pio->chip.parent = &pdev->dev;
pio->chip.owner = THIS_MODULE;
pio->chip.direction_input = direction_input;